Firouzbakht Law Firm | Colorado Personal Injury Law Firm
Firouzbakth Law Firm Logo

Houston Rideshare Accident Lawyer


Rideshare companies like UBER and Lyft put drivers on the road with no training and minimal background checks. When you have an UBER accident or Lyft accident, it is important to find an experienced Uber accident attorney / Lyft accident attorney. UBER and Lyft both claim that their drivers are independent contractors, to avoid liability. However, an experienced UBER attorney or Lyft attorney can bring a claim against UBER or Lyft. Since UBER and Lyft both take active measures to check drivers’ qualifications, there may be potential lawsuits against UBER and Lyft for “negligent undertaking.”

When it comes to filing a claim, time is of the essence. An UBER accident lawyer / Lyft accident lawyer takes steps to ensure that UBER or Lyft preserve useful data as evidence.. UBER and Lyft both use driver and passenger data during rides or trips; including GPS locations, speed, and unsafe driving practices.

Rideshare Accident Lawyer

Who Can File a Rideshare Claim?

Uber and Lyft are required carry commercial insurance policies in all 50 states, but the amount of insurance coverage varies by state. In Texas, Uber and Lyft are required to carry $1 million dollars in liability insurance and $250,000 in uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. 

If you are in the following situations, you can make claims against Uber or Lyft’s insurance policies:

  • An UBER or Lyft driver caused a wreck with your vehicle..
  • Passengers in an UBER or Lyft involved in a wreck.
  • UBER or Lyft drivers who are struck by an uninsured/underinsured motorist.
  • Passengers who are assaulted by an UBER or Lyft driver

Time-Limits for Filing a Rideshare Claim

When an UBER or Lyft driver causes a car accident, there is a limited time to file a claim known as a statute of limitations. The statute of limitations will vary depending on the situation.

  • If you bring a liability claim against an UBER or Lyft driver responsible for causing a collision, the statute of limitations is two years from the date of the incident.
  • If you are an UBER or Lyft driver or passenger who was hit by another driver, you have two years from the incident to file suit against the responsible driver and four years to file your uninsured/underinsured motorist claim.

Do I have a claim if I drive for UBER or Lyft?

When an UBER or Lyft driver is involved in a collision that isn’t their fault, UBER and Lyft driver’s can make a claim against the responsible driver’s insurance. Additionally, the UBER or Lyft driver is protected by an uninsured/underinsured motorist policy through lift. 

When driving for UBER or Lyft claims, it’s important to know that unless you have a special provision in your personal insurance policy for commercial driving, most personal insurance policies will not cover collisions for UBER or Lyft drivers.

uber car accident lawyer

How Much is an Uber Claim Worth?

Each claim is valued differently. The value largely depends on the severity of the injuries and the injured person’s “damages”, such as lost income, impairment, pain and suffering, mental anguish, and several other factors.

Firouzbakht Law Firm can help you better understand the value of your claim. Contact us today to schedule a FREE consultation.

Free Case Review
crossmenu linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram